For Official Release PR 001-03252024 Office of the Governor Utulei, American Samoa March 25, 2024



American Samoa's America250 Commission



On July 4, 2026, the United States of America will commemorate and celebrate the 250th anniversary of the signing of the Declaration of Independence and the formation of the United States of America.

American Samoa, through Executive Order 002-2024, has joined this multi-year preparation with the establishment of an American Samoa Semiquincentennial Commission (America250), which will plan and orchestrate activities towards engaging our community in reflecting on our nation's and territory's past, honoring contributions of all Americans and designing a territorial wide anniversary celebration in observance of our nation's history. The territorial Commission has adopted the theme, "THE AMERICA, in American Samoa."

The territory's America250 commission is excited to announce "America's Field Trip", a contest, opened to our students in grades 3 - 12. We welcome students to enter this contest by sharing their perspectives on what America means to them – and earning the opportunity to participate in unforgettable field trip experiences at some of the nation's most iconic and cultural landmarks.

Submittal guidelines are as follows:

• Elementary School (3rd Grade to 5th grade):

Students may submit artwork, including physical or digital artwork through a high-resolution photo or a short essay (up to 100 words).

• Middle School (6th to 8th Grade):

Students may submit artwork or a video (up to two (2) minutes).

• High School (9th to 12th Grade):

Students may submit an essay (up to 1,000 words) or a video (up to two (2) minutes)

For more information on this contest, visit https://america250.org/fieldtrip/.

The deadline for submission is May 1st, 2024. All entries should be submitted to individual schools, which will then be forwarded by the Department of Education to the Nation's Commission.

You may also call the American Samoa's Visitors Bureau (633-9805) for more information.

The local Commission consists of 11 ASG agencies and is chaired by Taimalelagi Minnie Tuia. The Commission welcomes participation from interested individuals to join the Commission and be part of this movement which will honor this historic milestone in our nation and territory.

###